Main content
Provost’s Distinguished Teaching Awards recognize graduate, professional school faculty excellence
emory building with purple flowers in the forefront

The Provost’s Distinguished Teaching Award for Excellence in Graduate and Professional Education recognizes outstanding scholars who excel as teachers within formal and informal educational settings.

One faculty member in each of Emory’s seven graduate and professional schools is given the award in recognition of the important role of exceptional teaching in graduate and professional education.  

The 2024 honorees are:

  • Lauren Christiansen-Lindquist, assistant teaching professor, Department of Epidemiology, Rollins School of Public Health
  • Thomas W. Elliott Jr., professor in the practice of practical theology and Methodist studies, Candler School of Theology
  • George S. Georgiev, associate professor of law, Emory School of Law
  • Adriana P. Hermida, professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Emory School of Medicine
  • J.B. Kurish, professor in the practice of finance, Goizueta Business School
  • Lori A. Modly, assistant clinical professor, Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing
  • David A. Steinhauer, faculty, Microbiology and Molecular Genetics Program in the Graduate Division of Biological and Biomedical Sciences, and associate professor, School of Medicine Department of Microbiology and Immunology, James T. Laney School of Graduate Studies

Recent News