Main content
University Research Committee accepting nominations for the Albert A. Levy Award
graphic of magnifying glass with light bulb

— Getty Images/champpix

The University Research Committee (URC) is accepting nominations from faculty for the Albert E. Levy Award for Excellence in Scientific Research through Friday, Dec. 8.

Two faculty members — one junior and one senior — who are considered outstanding in their research fields will be recognized with the award.

Each awardee will receive $2,000 in research funds as well as a trophy.

Faculty members from any school or unit of Emory University may submit nominations, including self-nominations, through Friday, Dec. 8, 2023.

Visit the URC site for eligibility criteria and nomination guidelines.

Award recipients are expected to be notified in spring 2024.

Questions can be emailed to the University Research Committee administrative support at

About the Levy Award

The Albert E. Levy Award for Excellence in Scientific Research was established to recognize the contributions of Emory faculty members to the advancement of scientific knowledge. This award was created by Edith Levy Elsas, a civic and academic activist, while she was a member of the Emory University Board of Visitors in memory of her father, Albert E. Levy. The award is overseen by the University Research Committee (URC) in the Emory Office of the Provost.

Recent News