Main content
Emory swimming and diving teams celebrate 24th-consecutive championship titles
swimming team

The men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams celebrate their latest championship titles on Feb. 11.

— Jack Lewis, Emory Athletics

Both the men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams captured their 24th consecutive University Athletic Association (UAA) titles last night during the four-day championship held at Emory University. This year marks the 30th overall title for the women in team history.

The women’s team claimed 11 total titles and 22 All-UAA showings over the four-day championship and set four UAA meet records. Senior Caroline Maki was awarded Women’s Swimmer of the Year for the first time. Read Emory Athletics’ coverage.

The men’s team claimed nine event championships and 21 All-UAA showings across the four-day meet and junior Nicholas Goudie set a new UAA record in the 100 Freestyle. Senior Lucas Bumgarner was named Men’s Swimmer of the Year for the fourth time, the first diver in UAA history to win the award four consecutive times. Read the full story from Emory Athletics. 

The coaching staff of Jon Howell, Cindy Fontana, John Petroff, Bob Hackett and Tomasz Rosas was also recognized as the UAA Women’s Coaching Staff of the Year for the 13th time. 

Next, the teams are looking to two more home events: the Emory Invitational on Feb. 17 and 18, followed by the NCAA Region 2 Diving Championships on Feb. 24 and 25. The Emory Invitational serves as a final chance for swimmers on the cusp of possibly qualifying for the NCAA Championship. This year’s swimming and diving NCAA Championship takes place in Greensboro, North Carolina, in March.

Recent News