Main content
Jaffar Khan, interim chair of the Department of Neurology, Emory University School of Medicine

Media Contact

Jennifer Johnson-McEwen
Emory Brain Health Center, Director of Communications

Jaffar Khan, MD is serving as interim chair of the Department of Neurology in the Emory University School of Medicine. Khan is associate professor of neurology and serves as assistant dean and vice-chair for Medical Education. He assumed the interim chair role in late May.

An Emory Brain Health Center board-certified neurologist with added board certifications in vascular neurology, electrodiagnostic medicine and clinical neurophysiology, Khan is a graduate of Louisiana State University Medical Center. He completed his neurology residency in 1997 at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics. He then completed a one-year fellowship in clinical neurophysiology at Emory and joined the faculty in 1998.

For more than two decades, Khan has supervised medical students, residents and other trainees during their rotations on the inpatient, consult and outpatient services at Emory Healthcare and Grady Memorial Hospital. He established leadership roles in post-graduate medical education and ultimately became director of the neurology residency and clinical neurophysiology fellowship training programs. Soon after, his role expanded to the Vice Chair of Neurologic Education in the Department of Neurology. In this role, Khan assumed responsibility for the direction of medical student education in the neurosciences.

Khan is a 2011 Fellow of the American Academy of Neurology (AAN) and received the organization’s Award for Dedicated Service from 2011-2013. His success as a clinician educator is exemplified by his receipt of more than 20 institutional and national teaching awards for his efforts at the medical student and residency levels, including the Parker J. Palmer Courage to Teach Award by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education in 2016, the AAN’s 2013 Clerkship Directors Teaching Award and the AAN’s 2012 Residency Program Director Award. Most recently, his dedication to teaching was acknowledged with his receipt of 2021 Emory Provost’s Distinguished Teaching Award for Excellence in Graduate and Professional Education.

Recent News