Main content
Emory School of Nursing Honors ABSN and DABSN Students at Pinning and Awards Ceremony

Media Contact

J. Michael Moore
Dir. of Communications

The Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing honored its Accelerated and Distance Accelerated Bachelor of Science in Nursing students during the university’s ABSN and DABSN Pinning and Awards Ceremony on Friday, December 10. Families, friends, and alumni viewed the graduation ceremonies online, celebrating the accomplishments of the graduating classes. More than 100 graduates will continue to hospitals, schools, and healthcare roles across the country.  

The ABSN and DABSN Pinning and Awards Ceremonies were held via video conference to follow social distancing guidelines. The event featured dynamic class speakers and an awards presentation honoring students who demonstrated excellence in leadership, service, collaboration, innovation, and personal character. The student award winners include: 

 ABSN Awards 

  • Silver Bowl Award -- Daisy Nagel
  • Award of Excellence -- Adam Bullock
  • Excellence in Collaboration -- Dara Suchke
  • Excellence in Social Responsibility -- Lauren Fabiano
  • Excellence in Innovation -- Gabe Silveira
  • Excellence in Leadership -- Nichole Lopez 

DABSN Awards

 Silver Bowl Award -- Ashley Reed

  • Award of Excellence -- Derek Levy
  • Excellence in Social Responsibility -- Kristin Evans

Student-nominated awards were also given to faculty on behalf of the Emory Student Nurses Association. These awards, known as the “Heart of the Students” awards, are given each year to staff and faculty who go above and beyond with their teaching and mentoring. 

This semester's ABSN Heart of the Students staff award was presented to Dr. Patricia Moreland, Assistant Clinical Professor. The ABSN Heart of the Students faculty award was presented to Dr. Kathy Forte, Clinical Instructor. This semester’s DABSN Heart of the Students staff award was presented to David Smith, DABSN Program Consultant, while the DABSN Heart of the Students faculty award was received by Tamara Tanner, Clinical Assistant Professor.

Student speakers Daisy Nagel, ABSN, and Kristin Evans, DABSN, welcomed their respective classes, speaking of the perseverance of their peers, thanking the faculty and staff for their encouragement, and expressing their appreciation for continued support from friends, family, and alumni. 

“We found ways to rise to a historical challenge,” said Nagel. “But we also found ways to lift each other up. To you all, I owe the deepest thanks for rekindling this inner light.”

“None of us expected to pursue our nursing degree during a pandemic,” said Evans. “We know and see the risk nurses put themselves through every time they go to work. But that does not turn us away. We became family and no doubt it will never be broken.”

In the ceremony’s closing remarks, student speakers Gabe Silveria, ABSN, and Ashley Reed, DABSN, reflected on their growth and thanked their peers, faculty, and support systems for guiding their class through a unique year.

“This year, more than any other, has shown us the power of resilience,” said Silveria. “Congratulations to the class of 2020, I can’t wait to see what we can accomplish.”

“We supported and encouraged each other every step of the way,” said Reed. “I know this will continue as we go our separate ways. Each one of us played a unique role and worked so well together.”

To view the full ceremony, visit our ceremony archives page, where you can find full recordings of each 2020 ceremony.  

Recent News