Main content
Acclaim: Recent honors for Emory faculty and staff

Emory faculty and staff are frequently recognized for their work locally, nationally and internationally. The following is a sampling of recent accolades, including multiple leadership awards and honors from professional societies.

Honors highlighted in this column:

Edwards and Dunn selected as American College of Nurse-MidwivesFellows

The American College of Nurse-Midwives has selected Emory’s Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing professionals Sara Edwards and Alexis Dunn as Fellows. This designation allows them to use the FACNM title and expand their research of nurse-midwifery with the resources and platforms available to Fellows.

The ACNM is dedicated to honoring nurse-midwives and their efforts to improve the care of women, infants and families. To be accepted as a Fellow for the ACNM, nursing professionals have demonstrated consistent leadership and impactful contributions to the nurse-midwifery community and within an ACNM affiliate or related program. It is a Fellow’s responsibility to help further the ACNM mission by speaking, mentoring and advancing the midwifery profession.

Kazzi named Joe Lex Educator of the Year

Ziad N. Kazzi has been named the American Academy of Emergency Medicine’s 2020 Joe Lex Educator of the Year. Kassi is associate professor in the Department of Emergency Medicine and director of the university’s International Toxicology Postdoctoral Fellowship Program. 

The Joe Lex Educator of the Year award recognizes an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to AAEM through work on educational programs.

Klibanoff podcast garners Edward R. Murrow Award

“Buried Truths,” a podcast by Hank Klibanoff for WABE Radio in Atlanta, won a regional Edward R. Murrow Award in the 2020 podcast category.

Klibanoff is professor of practice in Emory’s creative writing program. He is a veteran journalist, Pulitzer Prize-winning author and a Peabody Award-winning podcast host. “Buried Truths” investigates still-relevant stories of injustice, resilience and racism in the American South.

The Edward R. Murrow Awards have honored outstanding achievements in broadcast and digital journalism since 1971 on both local and national levels. The annual awards are given by the Radio Television Digital News Association.

LaVoy honored with multiple audiobook awards

January LaVoy, assistant professor in the Department of Theater Studies, received multiple awards at the Audio Publishers Association Gala in New York City in March. 

She won the Audie for Best Fantasy for her solo narration of “The Ten Thousand Doors of January” by Alix E. Harrow. She helped narrate “The Only Plane in the Sky: An Oral History of 9/11” by Garrett M. Graff, which received the evening’s highest honor of Audiobook of the Year. LaVoy also voiced the title role in “Charlotte’s Web” by E. B. White, which was awarded Best Middle Grade program, and was co-narrated by Meryl Streep and a full cast. 

The Audies are the annual event honoring excellence across the audiobook publishing world. The March celebration was hosted by author and comedian Mo Rocca. 

India national STEM chair created in the name of Parimala

Raman Parimala is one of 11 Indian women scientists in STEM who is being recognized with a chair created in their honor.

Parimala is Arts & Sciences Distinguished Professor of Mathematics. She is well-known for her contributions to algebra, including her demonstration of the first example of a “non trivial quadratic space over an affine plane” and her solution to the second Serre conjecture.

The Indian government is creating chairs in institutes across the country to inspire, encourage and empower women, and to give due recognition to young women researchers excelling in mathematics. 

Patel joins fellowship selection committee for DBT/Wellcome Trust India Alliance

Shivani Patel has been invited to join the DBT/Wellcome Trust India Alliance Early Career Fellowship Selection Committee. 

Patel is assistant professor at the Rollins School of Public Health. "It is very exciting to be a part of a process that identifies and supports the most promising biomedical scientists at a critical point in their careers... when they are taking the first steps to develop an independent research portfolio," says Patel. "The quality of applicants and the breadth of their ambition is simply outstanding. It is humbling to play a small role in the scientific trajectory of these great minds." 

The DBT/Wellcome Trust India Alliance is an independent public charity that funds research in health and biomedical sciences in India.

Tucker elected a Fellow in AANP

Paula Tucker has been elected a Fellow in the American Association of Nurse Practitioners. Tucker is assistant clinical professor with the Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing. 

The 2020 Fellowship in the American Association of Nurse Practitioners is an honor bestowed upon a group of leaders whose scholarly contributions have led to significant improvements to health care and the nurse practitioner role. The Academy is composed of more than 2,000 of the nation's most accomplished nurse leaders in education, management, practice, policy and research, and selection for fellowship is one of the highest professional honors in the field of nursing.

Doctoral student Vu receives P.E.O. Scholar Award

Milkie Vu, a doctoral student in the Department of Behavioral, Social and Health Sciences, was named one of this year’s P.E.O. Scholar Award recipients. Vu was nominated by the BQ Chapter of P.E.O. Sisterhood. 

This merit-based award is granted to women in doctoral programs in the United States and Canada who demonstrate scholarly excellence, academic achievement and worthwhile career goals. Vu was among 100 winners selected from a pool of 928 nominees.  

In addition to this recognition, Vu recently was selected as a 2019 winner of the American Psychological Foundation’s Visionary Grant for her project, “An Examination of Multi-level Factors Influencing Vietnamese-American Parents’ HPV Vaccine Uptake for Their Adolescent Children.”

Watson receives Wesleyan Theological Society award

Kevin M. Watson’s latest book received the 2020 Smith/Wynkoop Book Award from the Wesleyan Theological Society.  

Watson is assistant professor of Wesleyan and Methodist studies at Emory’s Candler School of Theology. His book, “Old or New School Methodism? The Fragmentation of a Theological Tradition” (Oxford University Press, 2019), contributes to the history of American Methodism and the study of religion in America by widening the lens from denominational history to a broader perspective that includes multiple denominations sharing a common heritage. 

Awarded annually, the Smith/Wynkoop Book Award recognizes a recent publication of distinction in a research area related to the Wesleyan/Holiness tradition that has helped the tradition to be better understood and/or promoted. 


Recent News