Main content
Faculty Selected as 2020 Fellows of American Association of Nurse Practitioners

Media Contact

Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing faculty Calli Cook, DNP, APRN, FNP-C, Trisha Sheridan, DNP, WHNP-BC, SANE-A, CFN and Paula Tucker, DNP, FNP-BC, ENP-C have been elected as Fellows in the American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP). The 2020 Fellowship in the American Association of Nurse Practitioners (FAANP) is an honor bestowed upon a group of leaders whose scholarly contributions have led to significant improvements to healthcare and the nurse practitioner role. The Academy is composed of more than 2,000 of the nation's most accomplished nurse leaders in education, management, practice, policy and research, and selection for fellowship is one of the highest professional honors in the field of nursing.

“This recognition places Cook, Sheridan and Tucker among a global cohort of nurse practitioners making a positive impact on healthcare, dedicated to advancing the profession and developing our future leaders,” says Linda McCauley, PhD, RN, FAAN, FAAOHN, dean of the Emory School of Nursing. “The exceptional contributions that these Fellows make to our profession and field exemplify the hours and hours of hard work that go into an acceptance.”

Established in 2000 to impact national and global health by engaging recognized nurse practitioners to lead new initiatives, Cook, Sheridan and Tucker are among less than 100 fellows to be inducted in 2020.

Dr. Cook practices as a Nurse Practitioner at the Emory Brain Health Center and is a Clinical Assistant Professor at Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing. She currently serves as chair of the Consortium of Neurology Advanced Practice Providers (APP) within the American Academy of Neurology and co-chair of the Neurology Specialty Practice Group within the American Association of Nurse Practitioners These roles showcase her commitment to improving patient care and satisfaction through professional development of neurology APPs. Continuing her work in neurology after receiving her DNP from The Ohio State University set Cook to be an active member in many national organizations and recipient of honors such as the Eleanor C. Lambersten Scholarship.

As a Women’s Health Nurse Practitioner Program Coordinator and Assistant Clinical Professor at Emory University, Dr. Sheridan infuses forensic content within the nursing curricula, providing hundreds of students with competency in performing forensic medical exams and caring for victims of violence. After completing her BSN and MSN through Columbia University and receiving her DNP from University of Texas Health Science Center, Sheridan founded a forensic nursing program in rural Texas. As coordinator, she developed and implemented a forensic nursing program at the university, established forensic outreach education in rural communities, and led state mandated training to ensure competency in evidence collection for emergency nurses across Texas.

Dr. Tucker practices as an Emergency Nurse Practitioner at Emory University Hospital and is a Clinical Assistant Professor at Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing. She currently serves as board member of the American Academy of Emergency Nurse Practitioners (AAENP) and co-chair of the Emergency Specialty Practice Group within AANP. Dr. Tucker’s scholarly interests and research in healthcare quality improvement and implementation science has propelled her to advance NP practice and patient outcomes through the development of educational models for nurse practitioners and evaluation strategies for expansive research initiatives.  Completing her DNP at Vanderbilt University School of Nursing, Dr. Tucker exemplifies her commitment to NP practice through participation in various professional organizations, utilizing these networks to present nationally.

Dr. Cook, Dr. Sheridan and Dr. Tucker all work to progress research, clinical practice, education and policy related to the nurse practitioner role, a requirement of successful nomination for the 2020 Fellowship.

The 2020 FAANP Induction Ceremony will be held during the AANP National Conference in New Orleans, La. Fellows will be recognized at the ceremony as well as the Induction Reception Dinner on June 25, 2020. Attendees will join in discussions on current state and federal legislature, learn about regulatory and practice issues, and connect with nurse practitioners across specialties.

To learn more about The American Association of Nurse Practitioners and The 2020 Fellowship of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners, follow their Facebook and Twitter pages. Learn more about Calli Cook, Trisha Sheridan and Paula Tucker through the Emory University Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing faculty page.

Recent News