Main content
Oxford women's tennis earns national title for fifth year
The Oxford College Women's Tennis Team clinched the NJCAA Division III National Tennis Championship for the sixth time.

The women’s tennis team traveled to Peachtree City, Ga., to compete against nine other teams from Nov. 1-2. The team totaled 36 points, 16 more than Northampton, who placed second.

"Throughout the season, our girls continued to work and get better each day, and now all that hard work has paid off," says Oxford Head Coach Pernilla Hardin, who was named Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season, and for the third time in the last four seasons.

Hardin, women’s and men’s tennis coach and instructor at Oxford, leads the team with Robert Hardin, assistant women’s and men’s tennis coach. Pernilla Hardin has been at Oxford since 2013.

Second-year student Cody Lu of Alpharetta, Ga., helped lead the Oxford women by capturing both first singles and first doubles by teaming up with first-year student Frances Lee of Duluth, Ga. 2019 marks the fourth consecutive year the Eagles have won all nine flights at the national tournament.

A year after taking home the second singles title at last year’s nationals, Lu upped her performance as a second-year student to claim the first singles flight in her final contest for the Eagles. Lu, who is the Eagle's captain, also repeated as the first doubles champion after winning the flight for the second consecutive year.

Second-year student June Woo of Mahawah, N.J., and first-year student Allison Park of Seoul, South Korea, claimed second doubles, after outlasting their Northampton opponents. In third doubles, second-year student Jenna Shin of Brecksville, Ohio, and first-year student Hailey Kim of Vacaville, Calif., defeated their Northampton opponents to get the clean sweep in doubles for Oxford. 

In second singles this year, Park defeated Northampton's Viktoria Swanson. Lee outlasted SUNY Broome's Anika Mott to claim third singles. In a fourth singles matchup between Woo and Alyssa Kapcsos from Northampton, Woo came out victorious. Woo moved up two flights after winning sixth singles last year as a first-year. Shin earned a fifth singles victory after defeating Illinois Valley's Tyler Kroll. To round out the weekend, Kim won sixth singles beating Northampton's Morgan Putvinski. 

By winning nationals, the women's team captures a record winning streak for five consecutive and six total national titles — in 2011 and in 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, and now 2019. In 2014, the team took second place.

The women’s tennis team will practice in the spring, while the men’s tennis team will compete. The men’s team is a five-time NJCAA DIII National Champion.

2019-20 Oxford College Women's Tennis Roster

Hailey Kim First YearVacaville, Calif.
Frances LeeFirst YearDuluth, Ga.
Cody LuSecond Year Alpharetta, Ga.
Allison Park First YearSeoul, South Korea
Jenna Shin Second Year   Brecksville, Ohio
Grace Wilson First YearTallahassee, Fla.
June Woo Second YearMahawah, N.J.

For more information about Oxford’s tennis programs, visit the Oxford College Athletics website.

Recent News