Main content
Oxford men's tennis clinches fifth consecutive national championship
The Oxford College men's tennis team won the NJCAA DIII national championship in May.

Earning four singles titles and a pair of doubles championships at the tournament, this latest national win is the eighth overall for Oxford — extending the Eagles' NJCAA record for most team titles.

As a program, this is Oxford’s 13th national tennis title in the last 13 years. The women’s tennis team won the national championship in 2011 and then went on to win four-straight from 2015 to 2018.

During a three-day event at Georgia’s Peachtree City Tennis Center, Oxford scored 33 team points to outlast second-place Onondaga from Syracuse, N.Y. The Eagles beat out seven other teams from across the country.

“The players really worked hard and supported each other all year,” says Oxford Head Tennis Coach Pernilla Hardin, who was named the NJCAA Division III Men’s Coach of the Year. “Their motto was ‘do your job,’ and all of their hard work and dedication paid off. They did such a great job at nationals and I am extremely proud of them and am especially proud of Julian McCarthy as captain who won both singles and double matches.”

Oxford entered the tournament as a favorite and finished with no flight seeded lower than second. Oxford won six out of nine flights.

Every member of the Oxford team advanced to the finals matches. The team includes Tate Coston, Kennesaw, GA; John Funda, Bedford, MA; Dominick Garcia, Flowery Branch, GA; David George, Plano, Texas; Kavi Jain, Solon, OH; Orest Los, Siloam Springs, AR; Julian McCarthy, Bronxville, NY; Kevin Yan, Shanghai, China.

In addition, McCarthy, Yan, Los, Funda, and George were named First Team All-American.

This fifth consecutive championship broke the previous record held by Rowan-Gloucester College in Sewell, N.J., who won four-straight titles from 2010 to 2013. This is also the Oxford men’s eight overall national championship, which is the most by any Division III team. They also won in 2006, 2007, 2009, and from 2015 to 2019.  

View more details and photos of the men’s tournament.

Recent News