Main content
Oxford men win third national tennis victory
The Oxford's men's tennis team won the NJCAA Division III tournament for the third year in a row.

Congratulations to the Oxford's men's tennis team, champions of the NJCAA Division III tournament.

The Oxford men’s tennis team claimed a three-peat victory by winning the NJCAA III tennis national tournament for the third year in a row. The Eagles ended their 2016-17 season by beating out eight other teams in the national competition, held May 15-18 at Collin College in Plano, Texas.

Coach Pernilla Hardin, who received the Max Grubbs Coach of the Tournament Award, leads the Oxford team. Anna Hardin serves as the team's assistant coach during the regular season, with Ina Jones as an assistant coach at nationals.

Team members are Guillermo Cabral, San Juan, Puerto Rico; Nicolas Hasty, Houston, Texas; Gordon Hua, Shanghai, China; Henry Hua, Shanghai, China; Michael Pioso, Wellesley, Massachusetts; Akshay Raghuram, Amarillo, Texas; A.J. Sonawala, Singapore; Geoffrey Yang, Sammamish, Wash.

From the first point Oxford was ready to go, winning 8 out of 10 of their matches on the tournament’s first day, including a huge upset at number three singles. Raghuram won his play-in match then bested the number one seed in the first round.

The Oxford Eagles went undefeated on day two, winning 10 out of 10 of their matches, which included wins at number one singles for Cabral and number three doubles for Sonawala and Henry Hua against Brookdale Community College. The next day, number one doubles (Cabral and Pioso) won the consolation doubles final.

Oxford entered the final day of matches with representation in seven of the nine scheduled events. Cabral, Raghuram, and Gordon Hua all won their singles finals in straight sets, earning first team All-American honors. Henry Hua and Yang earned second team All-American honors. Gordon Hua’s critical win over Brookdale, as well as Raghuram’s and Cabral's subsequent victories, clinched the national championship.

Oxford was represented in the second and third doubles flight finals. The Eagles won at third doubles in a second set tie breaker, earning first team All-American honors for Sonawala and Henry Hua. Raghuram and Gordon Hua earned second team All-American honors.

Oxford bested Brookdale to win their third straight NJCAA Division III national championship. This is the men’s program’s sixth national championship (2006, 2007, 2009, 2015, 2016, and 2017). These championships join the three recent national championships for the Oxford women’s team, who were NJCAA Division III national champions in 2011, 2015, and 2016.

For more information about Oxford’s tennis programs, visit the Oxford College Athletics website.

Recent News