Main content
Phi Eta Sigma holds awards ceremony
interior of The Oxford College Library

At an April 19 awards ceremony sponsored by Phi Eta Sigma Honor Society, Oxford students were recognized for their scholarship and leadership. Also announced were recipients of several important named scholarships.

Founded in 1923, Phi Eta Sigma is the nation’s oldest and largest honor society for first-year college and university students in all disciplines. Those elected to membership must have a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.90 on a 4.0 scale at the end of the first semester of their first year, under full-time curricular period, provided they have carried a normal academic load acceptable toward a bachelor’s degree. Phi Eta Sigma chapters are chartered on 365 campuses across the United States.

Following are those students recognized by Phi Eta Sigma:

Academic Awards

Ina Jane Wundrum Anthropology Award

José Amador

Biology Faculty Award

Christina Joyce Hong
Rose Lin

Curry T. Haynes Biology Award

Brandon Chen
Zachary Joseph Harrison

Andy Autry General Chemistry Award

Selin Ekici
Amy Li
Kanwal Momin

Organic Chemistry Award

Brandon Chen

Economics Award

Sydney Alexandra Chan

English Award

Sarah Spielberger

Environmental Science Award

Anna Catherine Wassel

French Award

Justin Nelson Poon

Neal Penn History Award

Beatrix Rose Conti
Yi Xie

History and Social Science Award

Sydney Alexandra Chan

Humanities Award

Riley Kathryn Michele Horne

Logic Award

Yilin (Tony) Tong

Mathematics Award

Jade Liu

Music Award

Briana O. Bell
John Zachariah Shuster
William H. Murdy

Natural Science and Mathematics Award

Zachary Joseph Harrison

Philosophy Award

Sarah Spielberger

William Baird Physics Award

Zijian (Rebecca) Qiu
Ruomin Zhu

William Cody Political Science Award

Sydney Alexandra Chan
Raquel Jeanette Solla

Psychology Award

Jonah Elyachar

Sociology Award

Elizabeth Johnson
Alex Weaver

Spanish Award

Jonah Elyachar

Phi Eta Sigma Teaching Award

Molly McGehee, Associate Professor of American Studies

Leadership Awards

William H. Murdy Athletics Award

Kelsey Elizabeth Sattler

Who's Who in American Universities and Colleges

Rushay Amarath-Madav
Gabriel Lev Baskin
Zachary Walter Breathwaite
Jennette Michelle Cariker
Sydney Alexandra Chan
Jordan Taylor Chapman
Fransha Kiye Dace
Maya Marcia Rayann Foster
Carmen Del Rosario Garcia
Jaelaan Renae Gore
Lydia Jing
Mawuko Kpodo
Muhammad Naveed
Julianna Swyers Nikodym
Najla Jamét Phillips
Aleia Trunnell Ringel
Tejas Arvind Sardar
Aminatu Seini
Kako Annika Yamada

Pierce Certificate in Leadership

Marianne Birkner
Emma Claire Cole
Alisha Dhanani
Jonah Elyachar
Mustafa Hassoun
Saloni Achyutkumar Khamar
Tiffany Lee
Stephanie Perkins
Tarushi Tanaya
Sejal Waghray


Bard Scholarship

Aqsa Malik

Sammy Clark Scholarship

Nicholas Johnson

Brad Edwards Scholarship

Sanjaly Geevarghese
Andrew Howard Paul

Jennifer Evans Memorial Scholarship

Karina Chen

Liza Fridell Scholarship

Kanwal Momin

Johnston-Life of Georgia Scholarship

Tiffany Lee

Judy Greer Scholarship

Amanda Rivas
Stella Wu
Eric Zeng

Sara Gregory Memorial Scholarship

Jean Michael Paragas

Oxford College Alumni Board Scholarship

Grace Nguyen

Oxford Junior-Year Scholarship

Jonah Elyachar
Mawuko Kpodo

Pathways Scholarship

Kunal Rao

John and Ouida Temple Scholarship

Julianna Swyers Nikodym

Dr. and Mrs. Floyd C. Watkins Scholarship

Andrew Howard Paul

Recent News