Main content
Emory Healthcare Network primary care practices earn Patient-Centered Medical Home Recognition

Media Contact

Janet Christenbury

Nine primary care practices in the Emory Healthcare Network have recently earned Patient-Centered Medical Home (PCMH) Level 3 Recognition from the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA). Level 3 recognition is the highest recognition level the NCQA offers.

The NCQA Patient-Centered Medical Home is a model of primary care that combines teamwork and information technology to improve care, improve a patient’s experience of their care and reduce costs. Medical homes foster ongoing partnerships between patients and their personal clinicians, allowing patients to have a better understanding of their treatment options and partner in decision-making about their care. A clinician-led care team oversees each patient’s care and that team coordinates treatment across the health care system.

The Emory Healthcare Network practices receiving recognition include:

  • Emory Clinic at Decatur
  • Emory Clinic at Saint Joseph’s General Internal Medicine
  • Emory at Covington-Adams Street
  • Emory at Covington-Newton Drive
  • Emory at Covington-Hospital Drive
  • Emory Clinic at Midtown
  • Emory at Sugarloaf
  • Emory at Eagles Landing
  • Integrated mEmory Care Clinic (Launched in 2015, the clinic is distinctive as a medical home because it provides primary care specifically for dementia patients.)

“Patient-Centered Medical Homes empower patients to become more engaged in their own health care, with a focus on healthy behaviors, prevention and management of chronic conditions,” says Jonathan S. Lewin, MD, president, CEO and chairman of the board for Emory Healthcare. “Research has shown that medical homes can lead to a higher quality of care and lower costs, and can strengthen the patient-provider relationship. Our primary care teams have been diligent in working to receive this quality recognition, and we expect our patients to experience all of the benefits and more during their visits.”

To earn recognition, which is valid for three years, practices must demonstrate the ability to meet the program’s six standards embodying characteristics of the medical home. Those include: patient-centered access; team-based care; population health management; care management and support; care coordination and care transitions; and performance measurement and quality improvement.

The Emory Healthcare Network now has a total of 11 NCQA-recognized Patient-Centered Medical Homes. Emory’s Patient-Centered Primary Care at 1525 Clifton Road earned recognition in 2011 and has served as a pilot for the Patient-Centered Medical Home Program at Emory Healthcare. The pilot program was specifically designed for Emory employees and their adult family members covered under the Emory-Aetna health plan.

In addition, Emory Clinic at Dunwoody, located at 4500 N. Shallowford Road, earned recognition in 2014.

All of the recognized practices went through a program called Patient-Centered Medical Home University, which helps primary care practices convert to the PCMH care model. Emory partnered with the Georgia Academy of Family Physicians and Discern Health to offer the program.

To find clinicians and their practices with NCQA PCMH Recognition, visit

Recent News