Main content
Take Note
Nominate distinguished candidates for Emory honorary degrees

Nominations for honorary degree recipients for Commencement 2018 and beyond should be submitted by Oct. 15.

All students, staff, faculty, alumni and trustees are invited by the Honorary Degrees Committee to make nominations.

The committee is chaired by Allison Dykes, vice president and secretary of the University, and Joseph Crespino, Jimmy Carter Professor of History.

Nominees should be those whose work is consistent with Emory’s values and who have achieved the highest distinction in their fields, demonstrating a transformational impact in their areas of interest.

Those who have spent the majority their careers at Emory or those currently serving in U.S. elective office are not considered. However, those otherwise associated with Emory such as alumni, distinguished visiting faculty, and others are eligible.

The committee encourages the nomination of individuals from diverse demographic backgrounds.

Suggested themes to consider when making a nomination include “exploring the human spirit,” “improving the human condition,” “engaging society,” “fostering sustainability,” “new frontiers in science and medicine,” “transformational art,” and “creative philanthropy."

For more information on nomination criteria and guidelines, go to the Office of the Secretary.

Submit nominations online, email a nomination letter and supporting documents, or mail nomination letter and supporting documents to Honorary Degree Nominations, Emory University, Office of the Vice President and Secretary of the University, Administration Building 407, Mail Stop #1000/001/1AN, Atlanta, GA 30322.

Nominations are kept active and considered each year for a period of five years. To review past honorary degree recipients and related information, visit Honorary Degrees webpage.

Recent News