Main content
Faculty, staff honored during school diploma ceremonies

Emory University faculty and staff were recognized with multiple awards at the 2016 school diploma ceremonies.

Among those honored were the winners of the Emory Williams Award for Distinguished Teaching, the university's most prestigious teaching award. It was established in 1972 by alumnus Emory Williams to honor faculty for fostering participation, inquiry and creative expression in the classroom; providing a model for teaching and scholarship; and mentoring students.

The following awards were conferred:

Candler School of Theology

Emory Williams Teaching Award: Karen D. Scheib, associate professor of pastoral care and pastoral theology

Faculty Person of the Year: Barbara Day Miller, associate dean of worship and music

On Eagle's Wings Excellence in Teaching Award: Rex D. Matthews, professor in the practice of historical theology and Wesleyan studies

Emory College of Arts and Sciences

Emory Williams Teaching Award: Carol Anderson, Samuel Candler Dobbs Professor of African American Studies and chair of the Department of African American Studies; Samiran Banerjee, senior lecturer, Department of Economics; Judy Raggi Moore, professor of pedagogy, French and Italian Studies

Emory College Award for Academic Advising: Thomas Remington, Goodrich C. White Professor of Political Science

Goizueta Business School

Emory Williams Teaching Award: Emily C. Bianchi, assistant professor of organization and management

Marc F. Adler Prize for Excellence in Teaching: Wes Longhofer, assistant professor of organization and management

Donald R. Keough Award for Excellence (faculty): Earl Hill, senior lecturer of Organization and Management

Donald R. Keough Award for Excellence (staff): Allison Gilmore, director of the PhD program

Laney Graduate School

Eleanor Main Graduate Mentor Award (faculty): Dianne Stewart, associate professor of religion and African American studies and director of the Emory College Mellon-Mays Undergraduate Fellowship Program

Eleanor Main Graduate Mentor Award (student): Nicole Leigh Varga, 2016 PhD graduate in psychology

Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing

Emory Williams Teaching Award: Kate Yeager, research assistant professor

Oxford College

Emory Williams Teaching Award: Camille Cottrell, associate professor of art history and studio art

Rollins School of Public Health

Emory Williams Teaching Award: Carol Hogue, professor of epidemiology and Jules & Uldeen Terry Professor of Maternal and Child Health, Department of Behavioral Science and Health Education and Department of Epidemiology

Thomas Sellers Award: Michelle Kegler, professor, Department of Behavioral Science and Health Education

Faculty of the Year: Lauren Christiansen-Lindquist, maternal and child health researcher, Department of Epidemiology

Staff of the Year: Edgar Woods, facilities management coordinator

School of Law

Emory Williams Teaching Award: Kay Levine, associate professor

Ben F. Johnson Faculty Excellence Award (awarded every three years): Charles Shanor, professor

Most Outstanding Professor: Richard Freer, Robert Howell Hall Professor of Law

School of Medicine

Emory Williams Distinguished Teaching Award: James Zaidan, associate dean, School of Medicine

Evangeline Papageorge Teaching Award: Stacy Higgins, associate professor of medicine

Recent News