Main content
School of Nursing professors named fellows of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners

Media Contact

The American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) recently elected Dian Dowling Evans PhD, FNP-BC, and Terri Marin PhD, NNP-BC, clinical associate professors at Emory University’s Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing, into its 2015 Fellowship class. Both will be honored in June at the AANP’s fellow induction ceremony at the 2015 AANP National Conference in New Orleans.

Induction into the AANP Fellowship is considered one of the highest honors for nurse practitioners. Fellows are elected through a highly selective process that recognizes nurse practitioner leaders who have made outstanding contributions to health care through clinical practice, research, education and policy. This year, the AANP will induct 70 nurse practitioner leaders for their national and global health impact and contributions.

Evans is a second career nurse and specialty coordinator for Emory’s Emergency Nurse Practitioner program, one of only six graduate emergency nurse practitioner (ENP) programs in the U.S. Evans has practiced as an emergency and family nurse practitioner since 1990, was among the first nurse practitioners to obtain board-certification as an ENP and now currently serves as chair-elect of the American Academy of Emergency Nurse Practitioners. She has a joint appointment in Emory University Hospital’s Department of Emergency Medicine, where she continues to practice as an emergency nurse practitioner.

Marin joined the School of Nursing in Sept. 2012. Her research examines tissue oxygenation changes in premature infants receiving packed red blood cell transfusions. Marin’s research led to the discovery that premature infant blood transfusions may increase the risk for necrotizing enterocolitis, an illness associated with significant mortality and morbidity. In 2013, she helped establish Emory University’s Neonatal Nurse Practitioner program, the only program of its kind in the state of Georgia. Marin also has a joint appointment with the Division of Neonatology at Emory University School of Medicine.

The School of Nursing now has seven faculty who are fellows of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners. Evans and Marin will join Carolyn Clevenger, Elizabeth Downes, Sarah Freeman (Emeritus), Marcia Holstad, and Suzanne Staebler as fellows of this prestigious organization.

About American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP)

The AANP was founded in 1985 and is the oldest, largest and only full-service national professional organization for nurse practitioners of all specialties. AANP represents the interests of more than 148,000 NPs currently practicing in the US and continually advocates at local, state and federal levels for the recognition of NPs as providers of high-quality, cost-effective and personalized health care. 

Recent News