Main content
Take Note
Nominate faculty or staff for the Jefferson Award

Nominations are being sought for the 2015 Thomas Jefferson Award, which honors a current faculty or staff member whose distinguished leadership, dedicated service and personal activities have made a major — and potentially enduring — contribution to the Emory community.

The Thomas Jefferson Award is presented annually at Emory's commencement ceremony. As indicated by the original donor, the Robert Earl McConnell Foundation, the personal and professional qualities of the recipient should resemble those that Thomas Jefferson considered essential to the intellectual, social and political advancement of society.

Recipients have traditionally been selected for service performed at Emory over many years that goes above and beyond a job description, according to Emory psychologist Nadine Kaslow, recipient of the 2013 Thomas Jefferson Award and chair of the 2015 Selection Committee.

The award recognizes distinguished service in several of the following areas:

  • Teaching
  • Research and scholarship
  • Contributions to student life
  • Advancement and development in relation to the entire University or an area, school or division
  • Community or educational service on the local, state, national or international level.

The recipient should also demonstrate exemplary personal and professional integrity, Kaslow notes. For more information about the award's history, selection criteria, and a list of previous recipients, visit the provost website.

Any university employee may make a nomination by submitting an original letter along with the nominee's CV or resume. The nomination letter should be directed to the Chair and Members of the Jefferson Award Selection Committee.

Send nomination letters and CVs to Tom Jenkins by email.

Nominations are retained in active status for one year. The deadline for 2014-15 nominations is 5 p.m. on Thursday, Feb. 12.

Recent News