Main content
Honors for Pearson, Dobson Farnsworth and Emory Law students

Thomas Pearson has been elected incoming associate councilor of the Organ Procurement and Transplant Network and United Network for Organ Sharing (OPTN/ UNOS) Region 3.

Pearson is the Livingston Professor of Surgery of the School of Medicine and executive director of the Emory Transplant Center.

He will begin his two-year term on July 1. Pearson, who is a clinical researcher as well as a transplant surgeon, was appointed to this position by other transplant and organ donation professionals. 

During his term he will be the regional representative for the OPTN/ UNOS national committee that oversees transplant community membership and policy and regulatory compliance.

Jean Dobson Farnsworth

Jean Dobson Farnsworth

JeanDobson Farnsworth is the recipient of this year's Eleanor S. Morris Service Award honoring the achievements and service of financial aid administrators.

Dobson Farnsworth has served as president of Georgia ASFAA and on committees of the SASFAA, NASFAA, and GSFA. She retired from Emory in 2013 as associate director of financial aid.

2004 marked the 50th Anniversary of the College Scholarship Service.  To commemorate this event, the Financial Aid Advisory Committee of the College Board’s Southern Regional Council recommended and the CSS Assembly approved the creation of the Eleanor S. Morris Service Award.
The Eleanor S. Morris Service Award was established to honor a Financial Aid Administrator in the Southern Region who has been involved with the College Scholarship Service and the College Board.  This individual will exemplify the high standards, commitments, contributions and service exhibited by Eleanor S. Morris during her career.

Emory Law students Benjamin Smyser, Jili Xue, and Marcus Brown were winners of the Best Draft Award from the Southeastern Region in the Fifth Annual Transactional LawMeets.  The team was also a semifinalist in the negotiations round.

LawMeets, founded by a Drexel University Law professor in 2010, provides practical skill exercises to law students interested in transactional law.  This year's Transactional LawMeets hosted 84 teams.

Recent News