Main content
Take Note
Faculty award winners recognized

Ken Ono and Shannon Gourley are the winners of the 2014 Albert E. Levy Faculty Awards for Excellence in Scientific Research.

The awards recognize the contributions of Emory faculty members to the advancement of scientific knowledge. Each year, junior and senior faculty recipients are selected by the University Research Committee and by previous winners of the award.

Ono is the Asa Griggs Candler Professor of Mathematics; his number theory represents the beginning a new era of mathematics.

Gourley is assistant professor in the department of pediatrics. Her work seeks to mechanistically understand brain biology and why childhood and adolescence represent major periods of vulnerability and development of many psychiatric diseases.

Ono and Gourley were recognized at the Distinguished Faculty Lecture, held Tuesday, Feb. 4 as part of Emory Founders Week. Helen Mayberg was honored for her presentation of the Distinguished Faculty Lecture.

"We are also honoring faculty who have received several University awards earlier in the academic year," Center for Faculty Development and Excellence director Pamela Scully said at the Distinguished Faculty Lecture event.

Provost Claire Sterk recognized faculty who have received awards since the academic year started, including:

Matthew Bernstein, professor and chair of the department of film and media studies, awarded the Creativity and Arts Award from the Center for Creativity and the Arts, which recognizes and Atlanta and Emory community member who has made significant artistic and administrative contributions to the arts.

Peter Brown, professor in the department of anthropology with an appointment in Hubert Department of Global Health, awarded the Marion V. Creekmore Award for Internationalization from the Office of International Affairs. This award recognizes an Emory faculty member who advances the University's commitment to internationalization through education, research and other initiatives.

David Eltis, department of history, and Sidney Kasfir, department of art history, from the Emeritus College received Distinguished Emeritus Fellow Awards.

Brenda Bynum, theater studies; John Bugge, English; and Al Padwa, chemistry each received the Distinguished Emeritus Service Award.

Charles Howard Candler Professor of Psychology Marshall Duke received the D.V.S Award for his outstanding contributions to students and the University during the 2013-2014 Goodrich C. White Endowed Lecture also on Tuesday.

The award was presented on behalf of the D.V.S Senior Society, Emory’s oldest student-selected honor society, which observes its 112th anniversary this spring.

Recent News