Main content
Honors for nursing faculty, chemistry students, orthopaedics-researchers and Trethewey

Elizabeth Corwin, Kristy Martyn, and Judith Wold have been inducted into the American Academy of Nursing (AAN) Fellowship.  

Corwin is the associate dean for research; Martyn the assistant dean for clinical advancement; and Wold the distinguished professor for educational leadership at Emory 's Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing.  

Induction into the AAN Fellowship is one of the highest honors in nursing. Fellows are considered nursing's most accomplished leaders in education, management, practice and research. The highly selective process that recognizes individuals who have made major contributions to nursing and health care and whose work has influenced health policies benefiting all Americans. 

Doug Mulford and ChEmory received the Outstanding Chapter Award by the American Chemical Society.  

Mulford is senior lecturer and director of undergraduate studies the Emory College Department of Chemistry. He is director of ChEmory, the student chapter of ACS.

Mulford notes the award "places our chapter in the top most category of student ACS chapters across the country." ChEmory received the recognition for its 2012-2013 activities.

Natasha Trethewey was among 164 influential artists, scientists, scholars, authors, and institutional leaders who were inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences at a ceremony in Cambridge, Mass. Oct. 12.

Trethewey is Robert W. Woodruff Professor of English and Creative Writing and director of the Creative Writing Program at Emory. She is serving as 19th U.S. Poet Laureate, and is in residence through May 2013 at the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C.  

She is author of the Pulitzer Prize-winning poetry collection, “Native Guard” (2006), and is also Poet Laureate of Mississippi.   

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences is one of the nation's oldest and most prestigious honorary societies and a center for independent policy research.  

Tim Yoon, William Hutton, and Zili Wang have received the Lumbar Spine Research Prize awarded by The International Society for the Study of the Lumbar Spine.  

All three are Emory Orthopaedics and Spine Center physicians. Yoon is an associate professor; Hutton is a professor; and Wang is an instructor in orthopaedics in the School of Medicine.

Their winning abstract for their research was titled, "Effect of Link Protein Peptide on Human Intervertebral Disc Cells." Its aim was to determine if link protein peptide could have value in stimulating the growth and regeneration of degenerated discs with a lowered concern of creating unwanted bone.


"Acclaim" recognizes the accomplishments of staff and faculty. Listings may include awards and prizes; election to boards and societies; and similarly notable accomplishment in the wider community. To submit an item for the "Acclaim" column, contact

Recent News