Main content
Honors for Carini, Haley, Kaslow, Owens and Emory Healthcare

Susan Carini has been inducted into the inaugural class of the Partnership Against Domestic Violence's Legacy Society (PADV).  

Carini is executive director of the Emory Creative Group.

PADV inducted 11 women from the Atlanta community into the class in recognition of their significant impact in shaping one of the oldest nonprofit domestic violence agencies in Georgia into what it is today.

Susan Carini

Leon L. Haley, Jr. has been appointed to the National Advisory Council for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).

Haley is associate professor of emergency medicine. He also serves as deputy chief of staff and deputy senior vice-president of medical affairs for Grady Health System.

As one of 12 agencies within the Department of Health and Human Services, AHRQ's mission is to improve the quality, safety, efficiency and effectiveness of health care for all Americans. Haley joins a 21-member panel comprised of diverse private-sector experts who recommend what AHRQ's research should address in order to promote improvements in the quality, outcomes and cost-effectiveness of clinical practice.

Leon L. Haley, Jr.

Nadine Kaslow was presented with the Inspiring Mentor Award at the Third Annual White Coat Grady Gala.  

Kaslow is professor in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at Emory School of Medicine, vice-chair for faculty development in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, chief psychologist at Grady Memorial Hospital, and director of the Psychology Postdoctoral Fellowship Program in Professional Psychology. She holds joint appointments in the departments of emergency medicine, pediatrics and with the Rollins School of Public Health.

During its annual gala, the Grady Health Foundation honors exceptional Grady Memorial Hospital medical staff.

Nadine Kaslow

Michael Leo Owens has been selected to chair the governing board of the Urban Affairs Association (UAA).

Owens is associate professor of political science and co-director of the Andrew W. Mellon Graduate Teaching Fellowship.  

The Urban Affairs Association is an international professional organization dedicated to fostering diverse activities to understand and shape a more just and equitable urban world. UAA sponsors the Journal of Urban Affairs.

Michael Leo Owens

Emory Healthcare individuals and groups were honored with the 2013 Second Century Awards:  

  • W. Daniel Barker, recipient of the Wadley R. Glenn, MD, Award;

  • Emory Johns Creek Hospital Auxiliary, recipient of the Emory Johns Creek Hospital Legacy Award;

  • William C. Wood, recipient of the Lettie Pate Whitehead Evans Award;

  • Valentina Sheridan, recipient of the newly named Sister Valentina Sheridan Award.

The Second Century Awards honor those whose dedication and commitment have been instrumental in providing excellent patient care. The award recipients were selected for their significant impact on the care of Atlantans, hospital patients, staff and physicians, and nominated by Emory Healthcare leadership and previous award recipients.

"Acclaim" recognizes the accomplishments of staff and faculty. Listings may include awards and prizes; election to boards and societies; and similarly notable accomplishment in the wider community. To submit an item for the "Acclaim" column, contact

Recent News