Main content
Honors for Ali, Ingram, Romig, Thourani and Thomaskutty

Mohammed K. Ali won the Velji Award for Teaching Excellence in Global Health by the Consortium of Universities for Global Health.

Ali is assistant professor in the Hubert Department of Global Health and Department of Epidemiology at Emory’s Rollins School of Public Health.

The Velji Award honors faculty who have distinguished themselves in the field of teaching global health.

Mohammed K. Ali

Walt Ingram was honored with the Senior Sage Award at the 3rd Annual White Coat Grady Gala.

Ingram is director of the burn unit at Grady Memorial Hospital and associate professor of surgery in Emory School of Medicine.

The gala is sponsored by the Grady Health Foundation to honor Atlanta health care heroes.

Walt Ingram

Jennifer Murphy Romig has been selected as secretary of the American Association of Law Schools' Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning and Research.

Romig is an instructor in Emory Law's Legal Writing, Research and Advocacy Program.

The section, part of the American Association of Law Schools, sponsors programming, information, and awards related to excellence in legal writing, teaching and scholarship.

Jennifer Murphy Romig

Christy Thomaskutty was chosen South Region Coach of the Year and UAA Coach of the Year.

Thomaskutty is the head coach of Emory's women's basketball team.

Her honor came after directing Emory to an overall record of 24-4 with the victory total a school record.  The Eagles brought home their first-ever UAA title, finishing with a 12-2 slate that established another school mark for most wins in league play. 

Her selection by her peers as the conference coach of the year was the first time that somebody from Emory had been selected for that honor. 

Christy Thomaskutty

Vinod Thourani received the W. Proctor Harvey, MD, Young Teacher Award from the 2013 American College of Cardiology (ACC).

Thourani is associate professor of surgery in Emory School of Medicine.  He is a cardiothoracic surgeon-researcher.   The award celebrates promising young members of the ACC who have distinguished themselves by dedication and skill in teaching and it is intended to encourage the awardees to continue their careers in education.

Vinod Thourani

"Acclaim" recognizes the accomplishments of staff and faculty. Listings may include awards and prizes; election to boards and societies; and similarly notable accomplishment in the wider community. To submit an item for the "Acclaim" column, contact

Recent News