Main content
Emory Johns Creek Hospital appoints new board members

Media Contact

Janet Christenbury

Emory Johns Creek Hospital (EJCH) has appointed five new members to its Board of Trustees at the hospital. The board members are community leaders with a vested interest in Johns Creek and the surrounding area and are advocates for excellence in local health care. They will serve an initial term of three years.

The new members are:

T. Neil Stevens, Vice-Chairman of the Board of Trustees

Stevens is executive vice president and chief operating officer of KeyWorth Bank. He has 22 years of broad-based banking experience, including corporate banking, commercial banking, mortgage banking, retail administration, construction lending, strategic planning and leadership for senior bankers. He began his career in 1989 with Citizens and Southern (C&S) National Bank (later known as NationsBank and Bank of America).

In 2006, Stevens was a founding executive of KeyWorth Bank and an area executive (area president) for the Georgia market with IronStone Bank. He serves on the Credit Committee of the Georgia Bankers Association and is involved with both the Gwinnett and North Fulton Chambers of Commerce. Stevens is a graduate of Mercer University in Macon, Georgia.

Charles W. Buffington, Member

Charles W. Buffington, Jr. is the founder and president of C. W. Buffington & Associates, Inc., a management-consulting firm based in Roswell, Georgia. The firm focuses on helping ministries and companies grow in the knowledge and application of “holistic stewardship,” the effective management of time, talent and treasure.

Buffington previously spent 25 years as an executive with Bellsouth and AT&T, where he retired as vice president of business sales. He is also a veteran who served more than five years in the U.S. Air Force. Buffington is a graduate of the Harvard Business School.

David R. Bowen (Rudy), Member

David R. Bowen is chairman of the State Transportation Board of the 7th Congressional District with the Georgia Department of Transportation. He is retired from Bowen Family Homes, Inc.

Bowen is a member of the Board of Directors of several banks, including Brand Bank, and a member of the Board of Deacons at Johns Creek Baptist Church.

His civic and community work includes the Gwinnett County Chamber of Commerce, Lake Lanier Recreational Authority and the Gwinnett County Airport Authority. He is married and has three grown children.  

Christopher J. Lee, MD, Member

Christopher J. Lee, MD, is a private practice otolaryngologist (ENT) in Duluth, GA. He received dual undergraduate degrees in electrical engineering and biology from Cornell University, followed by his M.D. from New Jersey Medical School. He completed his residency in Otolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery also in New Jersey. Lee opened his solo otolaryngology practice in Duluth in 2008.

Lee is double-board certified in otolaryngology and sleep medicine and is currently on staff at Emory Johns Creek Hospital, where he serves as co-vice chief of surgery. Lee is also member of the Korean Medical Association of Georgia.

Jamie Sapp, Member

Jamie Sapp is vice president of Healthcare and Marketing Strategies of MAG Mutual Insurance Company. He joined the company in Sept. 2012 and leads the development of technology-based solutions, with the primary focus of helping physicians and health care personnel manage patient safety and risk for quality improvement.

Sapp has more than 25 years of experience leading technology programs. He was the CIO at MedAssets in Alpharetta, where he was responsible for developing and managing their technology strategy. He also held leadership technology positions with Williams-Sonoma, Inc., Universal Solutions International and UPS.

“We are excited about the new board members that are joining us, and appreciate their dedication and commitment to Emory Johns Creek Hospital and the community for the next three years,” says Craig McCoy, chief executive officer of Emory Johns Creek Hospital.

The five new board members join five current board members: Donald Wells (chairman of the board), EJCH CEO Craig McCoy, (secretary of the board), Joycelyn Hairston, EJCH chief of staff Christopher Hart, MD (ex-officio) and EJCH chief medical officer Adedapo Odetoyinbo, MD.

Recent News