Main content
Honors for Wagner, Young, Liotta and Schinazi, Nemenman and García

Dennis Liotta and Ray SchinaziDennis Liotta and Ray Schinazi were honored with 2012 Intellectual Property Legends Awards by the Georgia State University College of Law.

Liotta is Samuel Dobbs Candler Professor of Chemistry. Schinazi is the Frances Winship Walters Professor of Pediatrics and director of the Laboratory of Biochemical Pharmacology.

Every other year, the Intellectual Property Legends Award recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions in the area of intellectual property, both in the business and legal arenas. Award recipients are also individuals who have served as role models for their peers, subordinates, and future members of the intellectual property community, have displayed the highest level of ethics in their careers, and have had a positive impact on their communities.

Ilya Nemenman and Paul García have been awarded 21st Century Science Initiative Grants from the James S. McDonnell Foundation.

Nemenman is associate professor of physics. García is assistant professor in the Department of Anesthesiology in the School of Medicine.

Nemenman was awarded for his work on mapping complex biological networks, specifically coarse-graining cellular information processing networks.

García was awarded for his work on understanding human cognition by probing the overlap between sleep and anesthesia to enhance human cognition.

James W. WagnerJames W. Wagner is a recipient of the Turknett Leadership Group Leadership Character Awards.

Wagner, president of Emory University, won in the education category.

Leadership Character Awards recognize individuals who demonstrate integrity; relate to customers, suppliers, co-workers and others with respect; and maintain a culture in which everyone takes responsibility for achieving results while upholding the organization’s core values.

Kevin YoungKevin Young is a 2012 American Book Award winner.

Young is Atticus Haygood Professor of English and Creative Writing. He is also curator of the Raymond Danowski Poetry Library of the Manuscript, Archives, & Rare Book Library.

Young won for his book "Ardency: A Chronicle of the Amistad Rebels." The awards are presented by the Before Columbus Foundation on Oct. 7, which recognizes literary excellence without limitations or restrictions.

"Acclaim" recognizes the accomplishments of staff and faculty. Listings may include awards and prizes; election to boards and societies; and similarly notable accomplishment in the wider community. To submit an item for the weekly "Acclaim" column,

Recent News