Main content
Women's swimming and diving team named 2012 'Stars of the Year'

Atlanta Sports Hall of Fame will honor Emory University women's swimming and diving team as "2012 Stars of the Year" at its annual induction and awards ceremony Saturday, June 9, at the Roswell Cultural Arts Center.

Head Coach Jon Howell and his squad captured the program's third straight and fifth overall national crown this past season, accumulating 639 points during the four days of the meet, the most ever by an Emory squad at the NCAA Championships. By the time the Championships had concluded, Emory had amassed 28 all-America honors (23 in individual events and five in relays) in addition to 17 honorable mention finishes.

The evening's festivities, which include a reception, silent auction and a parade of past inductees, concludes with the induction of Jackie Bradford, Bill Hartman, Phil McCrary, Mel Pender, and Randy Rhino into the Atlanta Sports Hall of Fame 2012 class.

People wishing to purchase tickets or who would like more information about the event can contact Bev Bennett at 770-394-3359 or see the Atlanta Sports Hall of Fame on Facebook or on the web at

Recent News