Main content
Honors for Agichtein, Venapally and Williams

Eugene AgichteinEugene Agichtein has been awarded a Sloan Foundation Fellowship for 2012 by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.

Agichtein is assistant professor in the Emory College of Arts & Sciences Department of Mathematics and Computer Science. He is also director of the Emory Intelligent Information Access Lab.

Awarded annually since 1955, Sloan fellowships are given to early-career scientists and scholars whose achievements and potential identify them as the next generation of scientific leaders.

Suresh VenapallySuresh Venapally
was elected a fellow of the Indian National Science Academy, the only mathematician to be elected this year.

Venapally is a professor in the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science.

The Indian National Science Academy is a premier science academy in India and elects about 20 Fellows each year in all disciplines of science.

JoAnne WilliamsJoAnn Williams
has received Emory Healthcare's Patient Safety Lifesaver Award, the first non-healthcare employee to ever receive one.

Williams has been a shuttle operator since 2005, employed by First Transit, the vendor that operates the shuttles under contract to Emory Transportation and Parking Services.

Operating the Emory SafeRide route in October 2011, Williams encountered a woman who was dressed in hospital attire and seemed in distress. Williams alerted her supervisor who contacted Emory Police. Police officers were able to get the woman back to the Emory University Hospital.

Williams received the award for her awareness and concern.

"Acclaim" recognizes the accomplishments of staff and faculty. Listings may include awards and prizes; election to boards and societies; and similarly notable accomplishment in the wider community. To submit an item for the weekly "Acclaim" column, contact

Recent News