Main content
Take Note
University Research Committee accepting Albert A. Levy Award nominations

The University Research Committee (URC) is accepting nominations from faculty for The Albert E. Levy Award for Excellence in Scientific Research.

Two faculty members – one junior and one senior – who are considered to be outstanding in their respective research fields will be recognized with the award.

Each awardee receives an honorarium in research funds: $1,000 for the Junior Faculty Award recipient and $2,000 for the Senior Faculty Award recipient. In addition to the honorariums, each awardee receives a trophy.

Faculty members from any school or unit of Emory University may submit nominations (including self-nominations) by Tuesday, Nov. 30, 2021.

Visit the URC website for eligibility criteria and nomination guidelines.

Award recipients are expected to be notified in spring 2022.

Email questions or requests for additional information to the University Research Committee administrative support at 


About the Levy Award

The Albert E. Levy Award for Excellence in Scientific Research was established to recognize the contributions of Emory faculty members to the advancement of scientific knowledge. This award was created by Edith Levy Elsas, a civic and academic activist, while she was a member of the Emory University Board of Visitors in memory of her father, Albert E. Levy. The award is overseen by the University Research Committee (URC) in the Emory Office of the Provost.

Recent News