Main content
Acclaim: Recent honors for Emory faculty and staff

Emory faculty and staff are frequently recognized for their work locally, nationally and internationally. The following is a sampling of recent accolades, including awards for outstanding service and inclusion in “Best American Poetry.”

Honors highlighted in this column:

Bradley named distinguished professor

Jeffrey Bradley was celebrated as the James W. Keller Distinguished Professor in Radiation Oncology on Aug. 31. The virtual ceremony included remarks from Bradley as well as Jan Love, interim provost and executive vice president for academic affairs; Deborah Watkins Bruner, senior vice president for research; Walter J. Curran, Jr., executive director of Winship Cancer Institute; and James W. Keller.

Bradley is professor and executive vice chair in the Department of Radiation Oncology. The endowed professorship was established in 2007 with a generous gift from the Emory Department of Radiation Oncology and a number of patients and family members of James W. Keller, MD, for whom the professorship is named.

Read more here.

Chandler recognized by National Black Nurses Association

Rasheeta Chandler received the National Black Nurses Association Nurse Researcher of the Year Award for 2020. This award recognizes a nurse researcher who has completed an outstanding study and who has excellent potential to implement a program of research that contributes to the well-being and health care of minorities.

Chandler is an assistant professor in Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing.

Work by Christle and Schiff included in “Best American Poetry”

Poems by Heather Christle (“The Waking Life”) and Robyn Schiff (“American Cockroach”) were included in the 2020 edition of “Best American Poetry.”

Since 1988, the Best American Poetry anthology series has been recognized as a mainstay of the poetry publication world. Each volume in the series presents some of the year’s most remarkable poems and poets.

Christle is assistant professor of English creative writing in the Department of English. Schiff is professor of English and creative writing.

New lectureship honors DeLong

Mahlon DeLong, W.P. Timmie Professor of Neurology, is being honored with a newly created endowed lectureship to serve as a lasting tribute to his long and successful career. The Mahlon DeLong Lectureship in Neurology is funded by families of former patients along with former neurology residents and fellows. 

Prior to his recent retirement, DeLong co-founded and co-directed the Emory Neuromodulation and Technology Innovation Center, which fosters innovative technologies for treating neurological and psychiatric disorders. DeLong’s extraordinary contributions over the course of his career earned him the Lasker-DeBakey Award, the Taubman Prize and the Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences, three highly coveted honors in science. He served as scientific director of the Dystonia Medical Research Foundation and is the former director of American Parkinson Disease Center for Advanced Research at Emory.

The new lectureship will ensure that Emory faculty and staff continue to learn from thought leaders who, like DeLong, are physician-scientists of international acclaim. 

Gavin honored with Endocrine Society 2021 Laureate Award

James R. Gavin has been honored with the Outstanding Mentor Award, part of the Endocrine Society’s 2021 Laureate Awards. The award recognizes commitment to mentoring and a significant positive impact on mentees’ education and career.

Gavin is clinical professor of medicine at the Emory University School of Medicine and the Indiana University School of Medicine. He’s also CEO and chief medical officer of Healing Our Village, which specializes in advocacy, education, disease management and outreach for health care professionals and minority communities.

Gavin has served as a direct mentor to more than 50 early stage physician-scientists and has touched the careers of countless others through his leadership of both the Howard Hughes Medical Institute-National Institutes of Health Medical Research Scholars Program and the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Harold Amos Medical Faculty Development Program (AMFDP). Through AMFDP, he has contributed to the career development of over 300 minority physician-scientists.

Faculty honored as American Academy of Nursing Fellows

Nine Emory faculty were chosen to join the American Academy of Nursing’s 2020 Class of Fellows: Brenda Baker, Susan Brasher, Carolyn Clevenger, Erin Ferranti, Linda Grabbe, Ursula Kelly, Victoria Pak, Samuel Shartar and Weihua Zhang. Inductees will be recognized for their significant contributions to health and health care at the Academy’s annual conference, taking place virtually in October.


Nurses receive oncology nursing awards

Omoye Ehizuelen, Cara DeBenedictis and Laura German Horne of Wiinship Cancer Institute have been named as the 2020 recipients of the Sabrina Williams Oncology Nursing Education Award and the Katie Ferraris Taylor Oncology Nursing Fund Award. Each award was established by the families of Winship patients to help Winship nurses pursue educational and career goals. 

Read more here.

Recent News