Photos: 2016 Pride Awards

Emory Report | March 8, 2016

pride medals
two men pose for a picture
three males pose for a picture
Two women pose for a picture
two women and a man pose for a picture
two men and a woman pose for a picture
two women and one man pose for a picture
three men pose for a picture
two men and a woman pose for a picture
a large group pose for a picture
group of people pose for photo
five people holding their awards
two women hold awrds


The Office of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Life hosted the 24th annual Pride Awards on March 3 at the Miller-Ward Alumni House.

The free event included presentations of several awards honoring those dedicated to creating an affirming and just campus environment:

  • Outstanding Transgender Advocate Award: JoAnn McKenzie, Emory University registrar
  • Outstanding Ally of the Year Award: Michele Hempfling, assistant dean for Campus Life, director of residential education and services, chief conduct officer, Oxford College
  • Chesnut LGBT Person of the Year Award: Lilly Correa 73C
  • Fierce Leadership Award: Sei Yoshioka-Cefalo. associate director for student support, Emory University School of Law
  • Alum of the Year Award: Scot Seitz 09C
  • Rev. Dr. Susan Henry-Crowe Keeping the Faith Award: Larry Gipson 17T, student, Candler School of Theology

In addition, student leaders who received support from the J. Michael Aycock Leadership Development Fund and D. Daniel D. Adame Student Leadership Fund were recognized and 2016 graduates received lavender diplomas and rainbow graduation cords. 

Photos by Tom Broadnax.