Main content
Take Note
Nominate exemplary faculty, staff for the Thomas Jefferson Award

Nominations are being sought for the 2016 Thomas Jefferson Award, which honors a current faculty or staff member whose distinguished leadership, dedicated service and personal activities have made a major contribution to the Emory community.

The deadline for 2015-16 nominations is 5 p.m. on Thursday, Feb. 11.

The Thomas Jefferson Award is presented annually at Emory's commencement ceremony. As indicated by the original donor, the Robert Earl McConnell Foundation, the personal and professional qualities of the recipient should resemble those that Thomas Jefferson considered essential to the intellectual, social and political advancement of society.

The award recognizes those "who have significantly enriched the intellectual and civic life of the Emory community … usually over the course of many years," notes Carlos del Rio, Hubert Professor and chair of the Hubert Department of Global Health in Rollins School of Public Health, professor in Emory University School of Medicine and co-director of the Emory Center for AIDS Research.

As recipient of the 2014 Thomas Jefferson Award, del Rio serves as chair of the 2016 Selection Committee. The committee is made up of the chair and the previous three winners of the award.

The award recognizes distinguished service in several of the following areas:

  • Teaching
  • Research and scholarship
  • Contributions to student life
  • Advancement and development in relation to the entire University or an area, school or division
  • Community or educational service on the local, state, national or international level.

For more information about the award's history, selection criteria and a list of previous recipients, visit the provost website.

Any university employee may make a nomination by submitting an original letter along with the nominee's CV or resume. The nomination letter should be directed to the Chair and Members of the Jefferson Award Selection Committee.

Send nomination letters and CVs to Tom Jenkins, senior director of academic and strategy initiatives, by email. Nominations are retained in active status for one year.

Nominate current staff or faculty for the 2016 Thomas Jefferson Award, which recognizes those whose activities have made a major contribution to the Emory community

Recent News