Main content
Nancy A. Collop receives Nathaniel Kleitman Distinguished Service Award

Media Contact

Holly Korschun

The American Academy of Sleep Medicine (AASM) has awarded Nancy A. Collop, MD, the Nathaniel Kleitman Distinguished Service Award. The Award was presented at SLEEP 2015, the 29th Annual Meeting of the Associated Professional Sleep Societies (APSS).

Collop is professor of medicine and neurology at Emory University School of Medicine and director of the Emory Sleep Center. She was AASM president from 2011-2012 and is editor of the Journal of Clinical Sleep Medicine. She has served as chair of several AASM committees and task forces, including the Fellowship Training Committee, Portable Monitoring Task Force, and Technology Evaluation Task Force.

Established in 1981, the Nathaniel Kleitman Distinguished Service Award honors individuals dedicated to the sleep field who have made significant contributions in the areas of administration, public relations and government affairs. AASM was established in 1975 to improve sleep health and promote high quality patient centered care through advocacy, education, strategic research and practice standards.

With nearly 10,000 members, AASM is the largest professional membership society for physicians, scientists and other health care providers dedicated to sleep medicine. More than 5,000 sleep medicine physicians and sleep scientists gathered at SLEEP 2015, which was held June 6-10 at the Washington State Convention Center in Seattle. The APSS is a joint venture of the American Academy of Sleep Medicine and the Sleep Research Society.


Recent News