Main content
Take Note
Pride Awards recognize LGBT leaders, allies

The 23rd Annual Pride Awards will be presented Tuesday, March 3, at 7 p.m. at the Miller-Ward Alumni House. The pre-awards and recognitions reception will be at 6:30 p.m.

This celebration occurs every year to commemorate the campus-wide protest for LGBT rights on March 2, 1992. Started by Saralyn Chesnut in 1993, the annual Pride Awards commemorate the protest and celebrate progress made each year. Award recipients are students, alumni, organizations and faculty members who represent the Office of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) Life’s mission of creating an affirming and just campus environment.

The 2015 honorees are:

  • Outstanding Transgender Advocate Award: Zebulun Treloar 15T, president of Sacred Worth in Candler School of Theology
  • Outstanding Ally of the Year Award: Glenn Memorial United Methodist Church Reconciling Ministries
  • Chesnut LGBT Person of the Year Award: Timothy Holbrook, associate dean of faculty and professor of law, School of Law
  • Fierce Leadership Award: Nowmee Shehab 16C, vice president of Emory Pride
  • Alum of the Year Award: Malcolm Bruni 92C, alumnus
  • Rev. Dr. Susan Henry-Crowe Keeping the Faith Award: Isam Vaid 93Ox 95C 99PH, Religious Life advisor/scholar
  • GALA Leadership Award Recipient: Nowmee Shehab 16C, vice president of Emory Pride

In addition to the award winners, student leaders who received support from the J. Michael Aycock Leadership Development Fund and D. Daniel D. Adame Student Leadership Fund will be recognized at the ceremony. Also, 2015 graduates will be recognized for their academic achievements with lavender diplomas and rainbow graduation cords.

The event is free and open to the public. Registration is requested. For more information, contact Danielle M. Steele.

Recent News