If this message displays incorrectly, please view the web page
April 22, 2019

Congratulations to Emory Saint Joseph's Hospital

Emory Saint Joseph's Hospital (ESJH) is the first community hospital and one of only three hospitals in the world to achieve its sixth consecutive Magnet designation from the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s (ANCC) Magnet Recognition Program. Magnet designation is a reflection of nursing professionalism, teamwork, and quality in patient care, and the highest national honor for professional nursing practice.

ESJH became the third hospital in the world to receive Magnet designation in 1995, with its first Magnet designation. It is now one of 492 U.S. hospitals out of more than 6,300  to achieve this recognition.

"Magnet is about the culture of an organization," says Julie Swann, ESJH vice president of Patient Care Services and chief nursing officer. "Living our mission of delivering compassionate, clinically excellent care in the spirit of loving service is our foundation. Our patients are the true north. Our nursing teams strive to deliver outstanding, evidence-based care with a huge support structure surrounding us."

The ANCC commended ESJH in six areas, including transformational leadership, exceptional guidance for new graduate nurses, exemplary professional practice, and outstanding outcomes in heart attack care in the emergency room.

“I am so proud of our superior team of nurses and the difference they make to every patient and every family member each day,” says Heather Dexter, hospital CEO. 

Magnet recognition has been shown to provide specific benefits to health care organizations and their communities, such as the following:

• Higher patient satisfaction
• Lower mortality rates
• Higher job satisfaction among nurses
• Lower nurse reports of intentions to leave their positions

"A sixth consecutive Magnet designation is quite an achievement and well deserved by an outstanding nursing team and outstanding leaders to support the mission," says Sharon Pappas, PhD, RN, chief nurse executive for Emory Healthcare. "It is a strategic priority to have all hospitals and Emory Clinics throughout our system achieve Magnet recognition."

To achieve initial Magnet recognition, organizations must pass a rigorous and lengthy process that demands widespread participation from leadership and staff. This process includes an electronic application, written patient care documentation, an on-site visit, and a review by the Commission on Magnet Recognition. Health care organizations must reapply for Magnet recognition every four years based on adherence to Magnet concepts and demonstrated improvements in patient care and quality.

Magnet recognition is taken into consideration when health care organizations are ranked nationally for their clinical programs and expertise. In fact, U.S. News & World Report's annual issue of "America's Best Hospitals" includes Magnet recognition in its ranking criteria for quality of inpatient care.

Congratulations, Emory Saint Joseph's Hospital!

Please direct questions and comments to evphafeedback@emory.edu.

Jonathan S. Lewin, MD, FACR
Executive Vice President for Health Affairs, Emory University
Executive Director, Woodruff Health Sciences Center
CEO, President, and Chairman of the Board, Emory Healthcare

Past IssuesForwardContact Us